Sarasota Pen Women
Members of the
Florida State Association
of the
National League of
American Pen Women, Inc.

Florida Web Site   National Web Site   Sarasota Pen Women





Launching Leaders
Our Members


   Brenda Spalding

1st Vice President
   Polly Curran

2nd Vice President
   Judy Allen

Recording Secretary
   Ros Petti

Corresponding Secretary
   Ronni MIller

   Carol Doenecke

   Marge Bennett



   Barbara Hansen

   Judy Allen

   Barbara Jendrysik

   Audre Marans and
   Barbara Jendrysik

   Sylvia Price
   and Amy Elder

   Alice Moerk and 
   Ellen DiPiazza

   Barbara Jendrysik

   Ellen Di Piazza

Art Exhibition
   Carol Doenecke

   Sylvia Price and
Beverly Fleming

   Ronni Miller

   Dannie Russell

Directory, Newsletter
and Website
   Caroline McKeon



Sarasota Pen Women are wildly creative women dedicated to the ARTS.  We are made up of professional ARTISTS, WRITERS, and MUSICAL COMPOSERS and we have the credentials to back it up!  We LOVE what we do, and love encouraging others along the creative path.  Check out our membership criteria to see if you might be a good fit for our branch.


The Sarasota Branch of The National League of Pen Women, Inc. (NLAPW) was founded in 1957.  Our local branch is composed of members in the field of Visual Arts, Letters, and Music.   We meet monthly October thru April; guest speakers are invited to our monthly luncheon meetings to offer inspiration and education in the varied multi-disciplined arts. In the summertime more casual lunches are organized.  

The visual artists hold an annual art exhibition at one of the local art centers or galleries, the Letters members have held panel discussions at the Selby Library. Our members have earned awards at the State and National level through competitions and biennial awards.   

The Pen Woman, our national magazine published quarterly out of Washington, DC, highlights the talents and creative work of our members in the 135 branches throughout the country. 

The primary focus of our Sarasota Branch is our Awards Scholarship Program which, in the past, has awarded more than $8,000 annually to graduating high school seniors in Manatee and Sarasota County public schools.   

Recently, a Mentorship Program has been initiated to help these graduates develop confidence toward a career in their chosen field. 

In 2017 our Sarasota Branch will celebrate its 60th Anniversary.


Join us for lunch one month and you'll see what we mean.  The food is good, the programs are great, and mingling among each other is even better.  Check us out!





The National League of American Pen Women, Inc. was founded in 1897. Realizing a need for an organization that would include women of the press, Marian Longfellow O'Donohue, niece of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, decided to create such an organization. Along with Margaret Sullivan Burke and Anna Sanborne Hamilton, she made plans for "bringing together women journalists, authors and illustrators for mutual benefits and the strength that comes of union."

On June 26, 1897, the three women brought together 17 writers, novelists, newspaper women, a teacher, a poet and an artist for the first meeting. Alice R. Morgan, an illustrator for New York publishers, designed the League insignia, the owl, symbolic of wisdom, placed in a triangle formed by a red pen, a blue pencil and a white brush, colors of the American flag.

The first National Convention was held in Washington, DC, in April, 1921, and the 300 women in attendance were received by President and Mrs. Warren G. Harding. Mrs. Harding was a distinguished member of The League, as was Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt.

In 1978, following its 80th birthday, The League was presented with the Literary Hall of Fame Award in recognition of its contribution to the cultural life of the United States Other recipients of the award have included Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Ariel and Will Durant and Charles Schulz.

The official League headquarters is the Pen Arts Building, built in 1895 and part of the Dupont Historical District in Washington, DC. Its most famous occupant was Robert Todd Lincoln, eldest son of President Abraham Lincoln. This 20 room mansion was purchased by The League in 1951 and was entered on the National Register of Historical Sites in 1978.

Membership in The League is comprised of Active, Associate, International Affiliate, and Honorary members engaged in creative work in one or more of the three comprehensive membership classifications: Letters, Art, and Music.

The League offers its members association with other creative professional women: workshops, discussion groups and lectures related to the creative process. Writing and poetry contests, art exhibitions (both juried and judged), and music composition competitions conducted at local branch, state and national levels of the organization.


National Headquarters


Pen Arts Building

1300 17th St NW

Washington, DC 20036-1973



National League of American Pen Women Florida State Association      Florida Web Site





2012 Sarasota Pen Women  -  Site Compliments of DreamWeb